On “everyday feminism”

Thank you, Kim, for an inspiring and thought-provoking post. I’d had a rough start to the day, and this really turned me around! If you don’t already subscribe to Ki’m’s blog, I highly recommend it.

The Activist Classroom

I’ve been a feminist for a very long time. I’ve self identified this way to students and in my research for my entire career so far. But when time came to name this blog, I hesitated about putting the word in the title. This wasn’t about being cagey; you can read about my feminist ethos on the “about” page, you can guess it from the title of my first solo-authored book (Violence Against Women in Early Modern Performance: Invisible Acts), and you can read my regular contributions to Fit is a Feminist Issue, which I always cross-post in this space. So my hesitation about labelling my blog “feminist” wasn’t about minimising or denying my feminist habitus. Rather, it was based in an anxiety about securing readership: I didn’t want the word to somehow limit the scope of the blog, for readers and, maybe, also for me. But what…

View original post 1,809 more words

Leave a Reply

